The Fog of Battle

They call it the fog of battle, where all you see and hear is gunfire. When you are in a battle it is hard to maintain clear perspective.

My phone was ringing. I looked down at it and read the caller ID and thought “Wow, one of my favorite coaching clients.” I gave a cheerful hello only to hear a faint voice on the other end. You see, my friend was sitting in his car in a parking garage unable to get out. He was trapped in his car by his own fear and fatigue! This once confident and self-assured president of a company was now child-like and meek.

He related to me over the phone how a series of downward disappointments had beat him up. He couldn’t gather himself to “pull it together” and get out of the car to face another day of “battle.”

I turned from coach to counselor. Trying my very best to encourage him to open the door and head back into it. I promised to meet with him soon for a day of VISIONEERING. Slowly my friend’s voice picked up volume and realization as he stated “Steve, I’ve lost vision. All I see is the battle.”

Vision is a picture of the future which creates passion in the present

I did follow through and I drove to meet him at his location. We spent three hours together rebuilding, rediscovering and renewing his vision.

Vision Question: How is your Vision? Not your sight, your Vision. 
What do you see in your future?

Here is a simple but powerful place to start: Ask yourself, “What is it that I really want to accomplish?”

You may want to choose two or three areas to focus and map out on a single sheet of paper. Do not get frozen or fearful. Imagine the possibilities in your career! Your health! Maybe you want to turn that blog into a book. Maybe you want to turn those daily bike rides into a successful bike race. There are so many possibilities that you can accomplish in your life with the right type of Vision!

Remember last week’s post about Michelangelo’s creation process of David? Remember how Michelangelo stripped away everything that wasn’t David. But first, he Imagined his Vision of David in his mind.

Ask yourself: What type of person do I want to be?

That question is a great place to begin developing your Vision. Perhaps you want to be more spiritual, more healthy, more fit, more optimistic, or to have remarkable energy that is just irresistible! Here is one activity that can really help build and maintain the power of your Vision:

BUILDING YOUR VISION BOARD

Lin is an award-winning interior designer. So admittedly, she is a natural at creation. Naturally, when I took Lin through the process of building her vision board, it turned out spectacular! It was aesthetically pleasing and organized. But not all boards have to be beautiful, they just have to display your vision in a way that you understand and that inspires you. On Lin’s board, she placed a picture of her husband and her boating in the San Juan Islands. She had a picture of her working in her garden at home. She had inspiring phrases and quotes.

You get the idea! It was a colorful reminder of her vision of her future life. The idea of the Vision Board is to be a reminder of what we are striving to reach even when we are stuck in the fog of battle. It is a visual vacation that can pull us toward our future selves. Once you regain and maintain your personal and professional vision, energy and oxygen course into your soul and it will fuel your days!

This is a discussion series, so help me out here

  • What is that inspiring vision you have for the next two or three years?
  • What do you really want to accomplish?
  • What type of person would you be proud to be?
  • If you were able to get out of the battle for three hours, what would your Vision Board look like?

NOTE:
I am pleased to report that my friend from the beginning of the post is better than ever. In fact, he recently sent me a wonderful spiritual read with a note that inspired me. “Steve, stay encouraged and stay spiritually whole. We need you.” Wow, he just gave me some Vision!

Imagine Your Vision Today!

Please comment below any questions, comments, suggestions, or thoughts. I really want this to be an interactive discussion series! Your thoughts count! 

14 responses to “The Fog of Battle

  1. Great post Steve, I need to do some visioneering as well! Once you lose your vision for your life then things close in and look gray pretty quickly. Thanks for leading the vision charge!

    • Thanks for the comment, Brian! It is easy in this fast paced world to lose track of where you were going. Having a visual plan can help keep you going in the right direction!
      I would love to hear more about your visioneering!

    • Brian,

      Thanks for the comment! Would love to hear more about your successes with visoneering!
      Keep up the good work,
      Steve

  2. Steve, great post! Vision is a light at the end of the tunnel … without it, we wander aimlessly and listlessly, with neither intent nor purpose. A vision board is a brilliant tool to bring the future into the present and help us identify and stay connected to our dreams, hopes and aspirations. These are the fuel that keep us in the game, even when times are tough. You have outlined some great tips on how to get started! Fabulous advice!

    • Hi Michele,

      Thank you for your comment. I hope to provide some real life tips that can be taken literally to help people build their imagined life. Reaching goals can be difficult especially when they are undefined. Creating a vision board is a way to define your goals and remind you of what you reaching for! Glad you enjoyed the post. More to come soon!

    • Michele,

      Thank you for your comment! I am glad that my message was helpful to you. You are absolutely right in everything you said as well! Keep at it!
      Use your power of vision to create a path and stick with it!
      To building better leaders,
      Steve

  3. Awesome read. Please continue to inspire us all.

    • Thank you Sonja! I will be posting each week on Tuesday morning. I hope you find all future posts helpful. You should check out some of my older posts as well. Let me know if you have any topics that you think would be helpful to cover! I want this to be a discussion series and am looking for input from my readers. Thank you!

  4. This is great Steve!

    • Thanks, Jackie! Glad you enjoyed the post! Feel free to ask questions, post comments, or provide suggestions. I want to build this into an interactive discussion series that will connect with the readers. Let me know what you think! Thanks!

  5. Thank you for inspiring! Much to think about!

    • Thank you Vanessa! There is a lot going on in our lives, especially around the holiday season. It is easy to get lost in all the chaos of life. I want to provide my readers with a way to define and focus on their goals without losing sight. I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic and future topics. If there is a specific or general question you have, please post it as a comment. I want this to be an interactive discussion series. Your thoughts are important to me. Thank you!

  6. Thanks for sharing this! The process of creating the Vision Board is therapeutic and helps you coach yourself into a positive state of thought. I love this idea.

    • Philip! I appreciate you took the time to comment! I am glad to hear that you found my post helpful. I am working to provide my readers with real life tips that they can literally do to find success. I want my readers to begin to build their imagined life. The vision board is important because it cuts through the chaos of life with a defined and visual image of what we are striving towards. Please let me know any other thoughts you have. This is a discussion series and I really want to hear from my readers. Thank you again for your comment!

Leave a Reply

